Marina Abramovic presents…..

Last year, I was lucky enough to attend ‘Marina Abramovic presents’ at Whitworth art Gallery in Manchester , and an art magazine I read the other day reminded me of how much i had got out of her meditation style sessions – contemplating drinking a cup of water with eyes closed, stretching our spines, staring into each others eyes, walking – all dressed in white laboratory coats. For a Guardian interview and film of session see here http://gu.com/p/29

Abramovic said – ‘ I always say to the audience ”I dont want you to spend time with me looking at my work; i want you with me to forget about time -kind of open up the space and just that moment of here and now, of nothing, there is no future and there is no past. And that you can extend eternity’.

‘If youre doing things you only like, you’ll never go anywhere. You will always repeat the same patterns But if you do things you fearand you do things you dont know there is a very big chance that you will actually open up your conciousness.’

The live performance art sessions were dedicated to Tehching Hsien, an extraordinary durational artist.

Leave a Reply

